Angelo Mathews was dismissed before facing a ball in CWC23

In a surprising turn of events during the Sri Lanka-Bangladesh cricket match, a peculiar dismissal took place that left the cricketing world astonished. Angelo Mathews, the seasoned Sri Lankan player, faced an unexpected ‘timed out’ decision by the umpire due to a seemingly broken helmet strap, leading to a fierce debate among cricket enthusiasts.

The time-out video of Angelo Mathews:

In the realm of international cricket, history is made not only by remarkable centuries and incredible catches but also by unprecedented events that leave fans and players astounded. One such incident occurred during the ongoing match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, where Angelo Mathews became the first player to be dismissed through a timed-out ruling. What makes this dismissal even more intriguing is the unusual circumstance that led to it—Mathews’ broken helmet strap.

The Unusual Dismissal: In the 25th over of the match, Bangladesh’s captain, Shakib Al Hasan, successfully dismissed Sadeera Samarawickrama, setting the stage for Angelo Mathews to enter the crease as the next batter. However, Mathews, dissatisfied with his helmet, took a little extra time to adjust it before stepping onto the field. In the meantime, Shakib appealed for a timed-out decision, leading to a deliberation by the umpires. Ultimately, Mathews was sent back to the pavilion.

Understanding the MCC Rule:

The decision to time out Angelo Mathews is based on a specific rule outlined by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). According to this rule, “After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out. Timed out.”

THE REAL STORY BEHIND:

The incident unfolded when Bangladesh’s skipper, Shakib Al Hasan, claimed Sadeera Samarawickrama’s wicket in the 25th over. Matthews, set to replace Samarawickrama, encountered a minor delay due to an issue with his helmet. Consequently, he was deemed to have exceeded the stipulated time for entering the crease, triggering the controversial ‘timed out’ call.

In the event of an extended delay in which no batter comes to the wicket, the umpires have the authority to adopt a procedure outlined in Law 16.3, Rule 40.1.2, with the start of the action considered the expiry of the 3-minute period.

Reactions and Controversy:

The unexpected dismissal of Angelo Mathews understandably raised eyebrows and sparked debates among cricket fans and experts alike. While the decision was in accordance with the rule, it left many questioning the sportsmanship of the Bangladesh team.

The incident triggered a wave of reactions and debates among cricket fans and players worldwide. Notably, Australian cricketer Usman Khawaja criticized the decision, emphasizing the trivial nature of the delay. Meanwhile, various netizens expressed their discontent with Bangladesh’s actions, labeling it as poor sportsmanship and calling for a better understanding of the situation before appealing for a dismissal.

Australian cricket player Usman Khawaja took to Twitter to express his opinion on the matter. He pointed out that Mathews had already made his crease when his helmet strap broke, questioning the fairness of the timed-out decision.

Another cricket enthusiast, Pravin Choudhari, termed Shakib’s actions “shameful” and emphasized that Mathews’ helmet strap breaking was unintentional. He believed that the appeal and confirmation by the umpire were unwarranted.

Conclusion: The timed-out dismissal of Angelo Mathews is now etched in the annals of cricketing history, and it has certainly added a unique twist to the ongoing match between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The incident has ignited discussions and controversies, raising questions about the interpretation of the MCC rule and the spirit of the game. While some argue that the rule was correctly applied, others believe that there were extenuating circumstances that should have been taken into account. As cricket enthusiasts continue to debate the issue, one thing is clear—this unusual dismissal will be remembered for a long time in the world of cricket.

Match Details:

The unusual incident occurred during the ongoing World Cup match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, which has already been marred by severe pollution levels in the host city. The match witnessed Bangladesh’s decision to bowl first after winning the toss, leading to Sri Lanka being all out at 279 runs.

This unexpected dismissal has sparked a heated debate within the cricketing community, calling into question the interpretation and application of rules in critical match situations.

Stay tuned for more updates on this developing story.

TIT FOR TAT:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *